Further information

Hanns-Seidel-Stiftung im Web 2.0

Namibian Democracy: Setting the Pace for Africa

Honorable Prof Peter Katjavivi cutting the birthday cake
Namibian Music

Ullrich Kinne, German Embassy

The House of Democracy brings together some of Namibia’s most dynamic organisations that have complementary mandates, The House of Democracy has grown into a vibrant working environment. The partners residing in it are the Namibia Institute for Democracy (NID), the Institute of Public Policy Research (IPPR), the Insight Namibia Magazine as well as the Economic Association of Namibia (EAN) respectively.

Nangula Shejavali from IPPR moderated throughout the evening. The Director of the Namibia Institute for Democracy, Naita Hishoono, welcomed the guests and encouraged them to engage with the House Partners at the House of Democracy. 

The Head of the Africa desk from Hanns Seidel Foundation Munich, Mr Klaus Liepert introduced Nicole Bogott as the new head leading the country office of the Hanns Seidel Foundation in Namibia. He stated that he is confident that with her team Nicole Bogott will continue to carry on and expand cooperations established by her predecessors. Mr. Liepert is confident in new initiatives that she will introduce in the area of sustainable development together with the foundation's current and prospective partners during her tenure as Head of Office.

He further stated: "As we celebrate the one year anniversary of the House of Democracy, I am drawn to quote from the late Nigerian political scientist Claude Ake: 'Democracy is not merely desirable, it is necessary. It will not solve all the problems of Africa but none of the major problems can be solved without it.'"

The anniversary celebration drew in a large crowd of around 100 people from government, state-owned enterprises, civil society, private entities, youth and the general public. They all came despite the cold winter evening. This is a testament of the relevance of the House of Democracy and the projects spearheaded by the house partners.

Namibian Democracy